My Blog List

Friday, October 1, 2010

Jimmy Norton's Explosion - John Peel Session 7-30-79

Today's post is another officially unreleased Peel session. This time from a sort of Punk Rock supergroup. The band featured Glen Matlock (Bass, Lead Vocals) fresh out of the Rich Kids and formerly of The Sex Pistols, Danny Kustow (Guitar, Backing Vocals) from Tom Robinson Band and Budgie (Drums) from Siouxsie & The Banshees and formerly of Spitfire Boys and Slits. Of these four songs Ambition and Just Like Lazarus were recorded by The Rich Kids in 1978 but remained unreleased until 1998 when they were released on the Burning Sounds CD, Ambition was also recorded by Iggy Pop when Glen played with him. This band changed their name in 1980 to Spectres and released two single, the first one featured a weaker version of Getting Away With Murder. The fourth song remains unreleased in any version.

Spectres info:
Spectres singles:
Rich Kids discog:

track List: [from cassette tape]
01. Getting Away With Murder
02. Just Like Lazarus
03. Ambition
04. Lost In A Landslide


  1. Would love a copy of this. I think your description maybe slightly wrong:
    1. I think JNE included Steve New on guitar rather than Danny Kustow. (They played a few gigs: I saw them at the Nags Head in High Wycombe)
    2. The Spectres were a completely different group with Danny Kustow on guitar and Art Collins on sax (later replaced).
    3. The versions of Ambition and Lazarus on the burning sounds (and best of) CD are actually from a demo tape recorded by the Spectres. I suspect that this was the tape used to attempt to secure a deal with Arista.It includes 8 additional songs unreleased except for "Things" (B side to Stories)Let me know if you'd like a copy.

  2. The information on the official BBC Peel website says Danny Kustow was the guitarist. Info here:

    The information for the Rich Kids Burning Sounds CD is here: It lists all songs played by Rich Kids. I don't have the CD so don't really know if this is correct.

    The Willfully Obscure blog has uploaded the CD with no mention of the extra songs being Spectres songs but Rich Kids recordings for their second album.