My Blog List

Monday, December 20, 2010

Avengers - Live shows pt.4 - 1979

At the end of 1978 original Avengers guitarist left and was replaced by Brad Kent from Vancouver Canada who had been a past member of D.O.A. and a couple other bands.  On all these shows they are playing new songs co-written with Brad Kent. On the Geary Temple show the play the rare song Lonely Girl plus a Velvet Underground cover. The Geary and Mab shows are both audience recordings so the quality is a little rough but still listenable. The Old Waldorf show is a radio broadcast and tracks 3 to 11 have been officially released on the The American In Me CD so you should buy it for the superior sound quality. The sound quality here is good.

Brad Kent interview here:

@ Geary Temple, San Francisco 3-24-79 [from cassette tape]
01. Release Me
02. The American In Me
03. Lonely Girl [Steve Jones/Avengers]
04. Zero Hour
05. Corpus Christie
06. Cheap Tragedies
07. White Nigger
08. Uh Oh
09. Second To None [Steve Jones/Avengers]
10. I Believe In Me
11. Beginning To See The Light [Velvet Underground]
12. Car Crash

@ Mabuhay Gardens, San Francisco 5-23-79 [from cassette tape]
01. Corpus Christie
02. The American In Me
03. Cheap Tragedies
04. Uh Oh
05. Zero Hour
06. Release Me
07. Misery (Finger On The Trigger)
08. White Nigger
09. Second To None [Steve Jones/Avengers]
10. I Believe In Me
11. We Are The One

@ Old Waldorf, San Francisco 6-13-79 [from cassette tape]
01. Second To None [Steve Jones/Avengers]
02. White Nigger
03. Cheap Tragedies
04. Zero Hour
05. Uh Oh
06. Corpus Christi
07. Release Me
08. The Misery (Finger On The Trigger)
09. Time To Die
10. The American In Me