My Blog List

Monday, March 14, 2011

Ascension - Detroit Michigan 1972

Ascension were a post-MC5 band whose members included Fred"Sonic" Smith, Dennis Thompson and Michael Davis. They only played a handful of shows in 1972 before giving it up. Parts of the song Summer Cannibals were cannibalized a few years later for the song Rock 'n' Roll Soldiers by Ron Asheton's New Order in which Dennis Thompson was a member. Summer Cannibals was recorded in the 1990s by Patti Smith after Fred died. This is a soundboard quality and the sound quality is very good.

setlist: [from cassette tape]
01. Summer Cannibals
02. Get Ready
03. Vulva
04. Mean So Much
05. Undertow
06. Gotta Keep Movin'

MC5 - State Theater, Detroit 2-22-92

This show was recorded at the Rob Tyner memorial concert and has Fred, Wayne, Michael and Dennis playing together for the first time in 20 years. It was recorded from the audience but the quality is pretty good.

setlist: [from cassette tape]
01. Ramblin' Rose
02. -Fred Speaks-
03. Black To Comm
04. -Wayne Speaks-
05. Kick Out The Jams