My Blog List

Sunday, December 19, 2010

Avengers - Live shows pt.3 - 1978 (continued)

Here's three more Avengers shows from 1978. I only have these two songs from this Mab show and have never been able to track down the complete show. The Whiskey show is a little special because it has the rare songs Night Ride and Flames Of Evil plus an Eddie Cochran cover and also an extended jam on I Want In. The song Flames of Evil is the same music as the song on the Died For Your Sins CD titled Something's Wrong but with different lyrics. The Aito's show is also special because of some rare songs. On October 23, 1978 The Avengers were in the studio recording 4 songs with former Sex Pistols guitarist Steve Jones. Out of that collaboration The Avengers added two Steve Jones songs to their set - Second To None (recorded by The Professionals as 1,2,3) and Lonely Girl (recorded by Steve Jones and Paul Cook as Lonely Boy for The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle soundtrack). And, there is also the mystery track Promised Land. All three shows were recorded from the audience but the sound is good on all of them.

@ Mabuhay Gardens, San Francisco 6-04-78 [from cassette tape]
01. No Martyr
02. We Are The One

@ Whiskey, Hollywood 8-04-78 (2nd Set) [from cassette tape]
01. We Are The One
02. Night Ride
03. Flames Of Evil
04. Desperation
05. I Want In
06. Money [Barrett Strong]
07. Uh Oh
08. Thin White Line
09. The American In Me
10. White Nigger
11. Open Your Eyes
12. I Believe In Me
13. C'mon Everybody [Eddie Cochran]
14. Car Crash

@ Aito's, Berkeley CA 10-27-78 [from cassette tape]
01. The American In Me
02. Open Your Eyes
03. Uh Oh
04. No Martyr
05. Lonely Girl [Steve Jones/Avengers]
06. Thin White Line
07. Promised Land
08. End Of The World
09. White Nigger
10. Second To None [Steve Jones/Avengers]
11. I Believe In Me
12. C'mon Everybody [Eddie Cochran]
13. Car Crash