My Blog List

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Reaction - Alternate Mixes 1978 + Talk Talk @ BBC In Concert 4-10-82

In 1978 The Reaction released one single on Island Records and had one song on the Beggars Banquet label's Streets compilation LP. Not too long after the release of the single the band split up. In 1981 the singer/guitarist started a new band named talk Talk. Here are some alternate mixes for the three songs the Reaction released and a live In Concert show by Talk Talk. Quality is good all around.

Reaction - Alternate Mixes 1978: [from cassette tape]
01.  I Can't Resist
02.  Talk Talk
03.  I Can't Resist
04.  I Can't Resist
05.  I Am A Case
06.  Talk Talk
07.  I Can't Resist

Talk Talk @ BBC In Concert 4-10-82
01. Talk Talk
02. Another World
03. Have You Heard The News
04. My Foolish Friend
05. Hate
06. The Party's Over
07. Today

Simple Minds - Mars Bar, Glasgow 7-30-78

I recently found this early Simple Minds show posted on the Guitars101 site. Both tracks from the Johnny & The Self-Abusers single and a couple others from their demo are played in the set and this might be the only possibility to hear these tracks live. This was recorded from the audience and despite some tape hiss has good sound quality.

Guitars101 site here:

01. Tonight
02. Take Me To The She Angels
03. Chelsea Girl
04. Act Of Love
05. Tuning
06. Saints And Sinners
07. Dead Vandals
08. Murder Story
09. White Light White Heat [Velvet Underground]
10. Caught In A Dream
11. Tuning
12. European Son
13. Tuning
14. Watch Out
15. Tuning
16. Wasteland
17. Doube-B-Doo
18. Cocteau Twins

Columbian Neckties - Loppen, Copenhagen 4-1-00 + Demo 2001

Columbian Neckties were from Copenhagen Denmark and rocked the earth in the first 5 years of the 21st Century. They released 3 CD and several singles before leaving. I was lucky enough to see them at this show at Loppen and having never heard of them before was completely blown away. The live show was recorded through the soundboard and the quality on both is very good.

@ Loppen, Copenhagen 4-1-00
01. Mr Tommy
02. Groovy Boobs
03. Whiskey Jive
04. The Bitch Is Bad
05. Four Eyes
06. Gimme Some
07. Too Naked To Care
08. Flu Balls
09. No Fun
10. Pocket Rock

Demo 2001
01. Social Woman
02. Born To Rock
03. Got To Give Me Love
04. Four Eyes
05. We Don't Forgive
06. Pocket Rock
07. Lipstick On Your Collar