My Blog List

Sunday, January 16, 2011

Gears - Whiskey, Hollywood 7-80

Let's hear it for the Gears!! Great band, great songs and one of those bands that existed during the transition period from when Punk to turned to Hardcore. They recorded one album and were filmed for The Decline Of Western Civilization but didn't make it in. This show was recorded from the audience and the quality is rough but, nevertheless, a fun listen.

01. Intro
02. Sweet Little Sixteen [Chuck Berry]
03. Don't Be Afaid To Pogo
04. Trudie
05. Elks Lodge Blues
06. Keep Movin'
07. I Smoke Dope
08. High School Girls
09. Rockin' At Ground Zero
10. Heartbeat Baby
11. Baby Runaround
12. The Last Chord
13. Teenage Brain
14. You Want Action

Adolescents - Rodney On The ROQ 1981

Here's the Adolescents on the Rodney On The ROQ radio show playing a demo they recorded and talking about the upcoming album they were recording. The four songs are demo versions which were only released a few years ago on The Complete Demos 1980-1986 album. This was recorded off the radio and the quality is good.

track list: [from cassette tape]
01. -interview segment-
02. Creatures
03. -interview segment-
04. Do The Eddy
05. Self Destruct
06. Ameoba

Agression - Rollerworks, Chatsworth CA 4-02-83

Here's some California Nardcore skatecore for those who desire it. This show was recorded through the soundboard and the quality is very good. Can anyone fill in the unknown song titles?

band info here:
more info here:

setlist: [from cassette tape]
01. Intro Jam
02. Intense Energy
03. Brain Bondage
04. Secret Sex
05. Non Person
06. Locals Only
07. It Can Happen
08. Body Count
09. Money Machine
10. Dear John Letter
11. No Mercy
12. Don't Be Mistaken
13. S.A.T.C. [no power version]
14. S.A.T.C.

Subhumans - Marion Hotel, Winnipeg Canada 5-02-81

Here is a very nice show from Canada's Subhumans that was recorded through the soundboard and has all the hits plus a couple of songs that didn't get released back in the day. They quality is very good.

setlist [from cassette tape]
01. Firing Squad
02. Escalator To Hell
03. New Order
04. Out Of Line
05. Slave To My Dick
06. The Scheme
07. Model Of Stupidity
08. Greaser Boy
09. Urban Guerillas
10. 21st Century
11. Screwed Up [Menace]
12. Behind The Smile
13. Let's Go Down To Hollywood