My Blog List

Monday, March 14, 2011

Ascension - Detroit Michigan 1972

Ascension were a post-MC5 band whose members included Fred"Sonic" Smith, Dennis Thompson and Michael Davis. They only played a handful of shows in 1972 before giving it up. Parts of the song Summer Cannibals were cannibalized a few years later for the song Rock 'n' Roll Soldiers by Ron Asheton's New Order in which Dennis Thompson was a member. Summer Cannibals was recorded in the 1990s by Patti Smith after Fred died. This is a soundboard quality and the sound quality is very good.

setlist: [from cassette tape]
01. Summer Cannibals
02. Get Ready
03. Vulva
04. Mean So Much
05. Undertow
06. Gotta Keep Movin'


  1. Wow! Thanks a lot for this one. I assume this is the same recording as the Seidr label album that came out a few years back (I've never heard it). Do you know if any other recordings exist?

  2. This is the only Ascension recording that I know of. I've never heard of the Seidr label or whatever their release is.

  3. Just in case you're interested, I only know of the Seidr album because it's mentioned here - I've never seen or heard it, but you can be sure if I do find a copy I'll let you know.

  4. One of these days I'll get around to telling the story of the Ascension tape on the SRB board. CG or maybe here.