My Blog List

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Clash - Cut The Crap live 1984-1985

After The Clash gave Mick Jones the boot they announced they were going to turn back and rediscover their Punk roots. With a new line up new songs were written and many shows were played. Eventually a new album was recorded and released. This album was called Cut The Crap and it turned out to be a big pile of crap. Many wondered what happened to their supposed return to their punk roots. Over the years I've collected live recordings from that period just to hear if the songs played live were as uninteresting as they were on the album. Surprisingly, the songs were actually good and did sound like the return to the roots as promised. For my own listening pleasure I put together live versions of all the songs from Cut The Crap that I could find onto one CD to get an idea of what that last album was supposed to sound like.  The quality of these recordings is very good audience recordings, so a little rough and raw. Well worth the listen I think.

01). Dictator
02). Dirty Punk
03). We Are The Clash
04). Are You Red...Y?
05). Cool Under Heat
06). Movers And Shakers
07). This Is England
08). Three Card Trick
09). North & South
10). Sex Mad Roar
11). Ammunition [bonus]

1 comment: