My Blog List

Friday, January 14, 2011

Avengers/Sex Pistols @ Winterland, San Francisco 1-14-78

On January 14th 1978 a historic gig in Punk history happened. It was the last one played by the Sex Pistols (until the re-union, of course). The opening bands that night were The Avengers set has a great version of End Of The World which they did not record in the studio before splitting up in 1979. Three songs from the Sex Pistols set have been officially released at one time or another. These are soundboard recordings and the sound quality is excellent.

Avengers setlist:
01. The American In Me
02. Desperation
03. Paint It Black [Rolling Stones]
04. Friends Of Mine
05. Open Your Eyes
06. No Martyr
07. Teenage Rebel
08. Crazy Homicide
09. End Of The World
10. Summer Of Hate
11. We Are The One
12. I Believe In Me
13. Car Crash

Sex Pistols setlist:
01. God Save The Queen
02. I Wanna Be Me
03. Seventeen
04. New York
05. EMI
06. Belsen Was A Gas
07. Bodies
08. Holidays In The Sun
09. Liar
10. No Feelings
11. Problems
12. Pretty Vacant
13. Anarchy In The UK
14. No Fun [Stooges]


  1. NA, your blog is like primer to punk history. I really appreciate all your hard work and extensive "liner" notes. Keep up the great work!

    - Rusty

  2. Thanks for an excellent post - all my faves are here... :-)